Databases by Topic

Automobile & Engine

You can repair anything with the proper know-how. Learn to fix any engine from lawn equipment to motorcycles to automobiles and trucks then prepare to hit the road with Oklahoma driver's license practice tests.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Auto Repair Source

Formerly known as AutoMate, Auto Repair Source provides step-by-step repair instructions, service bulletins, recall information, wiring diagrams, maintenance tips, and other information for foreign and domestic cars from 1974-present. All of the content in Auto Repair Source has been created by ASE certified technicians. 

Visit resource website

Consumer Reports

Access the latest reviews and ratings of cars, appliances, electronics, home and garden equipment, products for babies and kids and more from Consumer Reports. 

Visit resource website

Mitchell ProDemand

With Mitchell ProDemand, you can search for and print wiring diagrams, schematics, diagnostic trouble codes and technical service bulletins, estimate the cost of labor and parts for a repair, learn about scheduled maintenance, read about recalls and more for foreign and domestic cars from 1960-present.

In library use only.

Visit resource website

Oklahoma Driving Practice Tests

Take practice tests for obtaining a driving permit, a motorcycle license or a commercial driver's license (CDL) in Oklahoma, get access the official driver's manual for each license, and search an FAQ with answers to over 100 questions about an Oklahoma driver's license.

Visit resource website

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Contains the full text of hundreds of reference books and the full collection of Clymer repair manuals for performing routine maintenance and extensive repairs for all terrain vehicles, chain saws, generators, marine/boat motors, motorcycles, outdoor power equipment, personal water craft, snowmobiles, tractors, and more.

Visit resource website

Biography

Learn about the lives and work of important people from ancient times to today.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Biography Reference Bank

Provides access to biographies, images, articles, abstracts, and interviews of more than half a million people.

Visit resource website

Biography Reference Center

Biography Reference Center is a collection of full-text biographies on notable personalities from around the world, including actors, authors, world leaders, inventors and much, much more.

Visit resource website

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography

Provides information on the history of science through biographies on the lives and careers of great scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Visit resource website

Contemporary Black Biography, v. 148

Containing more than 55 biographies per volume, the entries in this reference source cover well-known and respected multi-national black educators, writers, business people, athletes, military leaders and many others. Digital content starts at volume 148.

Visit resource website

Books & Literature

All about books and reading! Find reading recommendations, see sources for literature assignments, browse downloadable nonfiction titles and search book catalogs from around the world.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Book Collection Nonfiction: Elementary School

Contains abstracts and searchable full text of nonfiction books about animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, nature, civics and more.

Visit resource website

Book Collection Nonfiction: High School

Contains abstracts and the full text of nonfiction books about careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.

Visit resource website

Book Collection Nonfiction: Middle School

Contains abstracts and the full text of nonfiction books about careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.

Visit resource website

Booklist Online

Contains over 100,000 reviews of books and digital media for librarians, book groups and book lovers.

Visit resource website

Books in Print

Books in Print lists the bibliographic information (title, author, pages, volumes, editions, year of publication, etc.) for millions of titles that are out-of-print, in-print or forthcoming.

Visit resource website

Literary Reference Center Plus

Search thousands of literary criticisms, author biographies, full text classics, stories, and poetry.

Visit resource website

NoveList K-8 Plus

Provides suggested reads across many genres (for ages 0-Teen) based on previous reads or based on a title, author or series. It also contains a breakdown of Dewey Decimal sections, Grab and Go Book Lists for K-8 students that suggests books to read about a particular topic (e.g. bullying, World War I) and book discussion guides to use with a book group.

Visit resource website

NoveList Plus

Provides suggested reads or listens across many genres (and for all ages) based on previous books read or listened to or based on title, author, series, or narrator.

Visit resource website

Poetry & Short Story Reference Center

Provides a historically rich collection of full-text classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on poetic forms, movements, techniques and more; includes contemporary content from the finest publishers.

Visit resource website

WorldCat

This is a catalog of books and other materials held in libraries around the world. If we don't own a title that you want, you can use WorldCat to find a library that owns the title in order to place an interlibrary loan request.

Visit resource website

Business & Financial

Get money smart! Whether looking for a competitive edge in business, preparing for a secure retirement, or simply looking for the best value on major purchases, these resources get the job done.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Business Source Premier

Provides the full-text of thousands of journals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. Additionally, it provides market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Visit resource website

Business USA

A resource to help small businesses access the services they need to grow. Find resources to grow your business, learn about taxes and credits, learn about new health care changes, seek disaster assistance, and more.

Visit resource website

Consumer Reports

Access the latest reviews and ratings of cars, appliances, electronics, home and garden equipment, products for babies and kids and more from Consumer Reports. 

Visit resource website

Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect contains comprehensive business information on hundreds of millions of U.S. and international businesses. It also provides residential search information for over 210 million U.S. consumers, demographic information based on the latest Census data, and job search information for career seekers.

Visit resource website

Mergent Online

Contains information on tens of thousands of US and foreign public companies like history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, address, telephone number, Moody's rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, stock splits, and more.

Visit resource website

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Provides real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds.

Visit resource website

Outlook Newsletter from MarketScope Advisor

The Outlook is the oldest continuously-published U.S. investment newsletter. The newsletter uses Standard and Poor’s STARS performance indicators to provide timely, proven guidance on market behavior.

Visit resource website

ReferenceUSA

Contains directory information for millions of new, current and historical U.S. businesses and U.S. residents and it contains a listing of U.S. jobs and internships. Directory information on businesses includes the name of a business, its address, telephone number, headquarters, ticker symbol, credit rating, number of employees, estimated sales volume, and more. Business owners can use ReferenceUSA to conduct market research and create maps and charts of similar businesses in the area.

Visit resource website

Regional Business News

Provides full-text coverage of business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces. Content includes newspapers, radio and tv news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, and newswires.

Visit resource website

Small Business Reference Center

A comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, Small Business Reference Center offers full-text coverage of magazines, journals, trade publications, and industry reports. It also offers a start-up kit and sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, state-specific resources, videos, and reference books.

Visit resource website

Small Business Sourcebook

This sourcebook covers over 300 specific small business profiles, as well as, covering general small business topics: business programs, federal support, and other issues.

Visit resource website

Value Line

Provides comprehensive information and expert investing advice on thousands of stocks, mutual funds, options, and other securities.

Visit resource website

Directories

Go beyond the phone book with these directories, providing in depth research and demographics on businesses and potential customers.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Associations Unlimited

Contains detailed listings for hundreds of thousands of U.S. and international organizations, including IRS data on U.S. organizations with nonprofit 501(c) status.

Visit resource website

AT&T Yellow and White Pages

Search the current Yellow Pages and Residential and Business White Pages for over 20 states, including Oklahoma.

Visit resource website

Fold3

Provides access to historic U.S. military records, including the stories, photos and personal documents of the men and women who served. You can also search archives for African Americans, Native Americans and the U.S. Bureau of Investigation case files, historical newspapers, historical documents, U.S. Census records, U.S. naturalization records, and city directories.

Visit resource website

Gale Directory Library

A virtual reference shelf containing digital copies of directories. Currently holds the Encyclopedia of Associations: National, International, and State editions. Entries can be selected and exported in a variety of formats.

Visit resource website

HeritageQuest Online

Contains U.S. Federal Census images (1790-1940), map guide to the Federal Censuses (1790-1920), U.S. Indian Census Rolls (1885-1940), slave schedules for the 1850 and 1860 U.S. Federal Census, genealogy and local history books, city directories, pension and bounty land warrant applications from the Revolutionary War, Freedman's Bank Records (1865-1874), and the U.S. Serials Set (1789-present) which records the memorials, petitions and private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress.

Visit resource website

Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect contains comprehensive business information on hundreds of millions of U.S. and international businesses. It also provides residential search information for over 210 million U.S. consumers, demographic information based on the latest Census data, and job search information for career seekers.

Visit resource website

ReferenceUSA

Contains directory information for millions of new, current and historical U.S. businesses and U.S. residents and it contains a listing of U.S. jobs and internships. Directory information on businesses includes the name of a business, its address, telephone number, headquarters, ticker symbol, credit rating, number of employees, estimated sales volume, and more. Business owners can use ReferenceUSA to conduct market research and create maps and charts of similar businesses in the area.

Visit resource website

Education

Whether you're looking to teach or to learn our educational resources will meet your need. Find research on teaching methods and learning styles or prep and practice for a variety of tests from the GED to medical school as well as a number of professional certificates.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Career Cruising

Designed to help students assess their skills, develop a career plan and explore career and college options.

Visit resource website

College Blue Book

The College Blue Book is a guide to thousands of 2-and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada with detailed descriptions, including a listing of degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.

Visit resource website

ERIC

The Educational Resource Information Center provides access to literature and resources about the field of education.

Visit resource website

Film Scripts Online

The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film lovers and scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.

Visit resource website

HelpNow

HelpNow is a homework help and skills building service that offers live online tutoring for elementary through high school students. HelpNow also offers a writing lab, practice tests, skills building lessons, a flashcard generator, and virtual study rooms.

Visit resource website

LearningExpress Library

LearningExpress Library contains study guides and practice tests to help you prepare for career- and school-related tests (GED, ACT, SAT, ASVAB, CDL, NCLEX-RN, etc), job and career resources to help you search for a job, write a resume, and guide you through the interview process, and self-paced tutorials for computer and internet basics as well as for popular software like Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc), Adobe Photoshop, and the Windows and Mac operating systems.

Visit resource website

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

This database indexes hundreds of journals that cover librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more. Coverage extends back to the mid-1960s.

Visit resource website

Professional Development Collection

Provides full-text coverage for hundreds of education journals and education reports of interest to professional educators. Titles include Education, Education Week, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Phi Delta Kappan, School Library Journal, and more.

Visit resource website

Scholarships, Fellowships, and Loans (37th ed.)

Provides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies.

Visit resource website

SkillSurfer Learning Library

Visit the SkillSurfer Learning Library to read lessons, watch videos, and take practice tests on a variety of subjects. Get ready to apply for college, brush up on Microsoft Office skills, learn about different careers, and study for the GED, SAT, ACT, AP, CLEP, GRE, GMAT, ASVAB, Praxis, or TOEFL.

Visit resource website

Genealogy & Family History

Discover your family history with our genealogy databases, providing full image records including census and vital records, photos and more.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Access Newspaper Archive

Search tens of millions of U.S. and international newspapers whose coverage goes back more than 400 years.

Visit resource website

African American Heritage

Search historical records for African Americans that include the Federal Census, Marriage and Cohabitation Records, Military Draft and Service Records, Registers of Slaves and Free(d) Persons of Color, Freedman's Bank, and more.

Visit resource website

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)

Search hundreds of African American newspapers from across the United States published during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Visit resource website

America's GenealogyBank

Search over 300 years of historical U.S. newspapers, books, pamphlets, local histories, military records, funeral sermons, land grants, birth and marriage records, and more.

Visit resource website

America's Historical Newspapers

This is a searchable collection of early American newspapers from 1690-1999.

Visit resource website

America's Obituaries and Death Notices

The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices. Extensive editorial review of all newspaper sections ensures a thorough selection of obituaries for easy access. An easy-to-use interface allows searching by name, date range, or text such as institutional name, social affiliation(s), geographic location(s), philanthropic activities, etc.

Visit resource website

Ancestry.com

Search billions of historical records covering hundreds of years of family trees, photographs, census records, birth, marriage and death records, military records, city directories, immigration and travel records, newspapers, and more.

In library use only.

Visit resource website

Chicago Defender (1905-1975)

Provides full-text archives to the country’s premier African American newspaper, the Chicago Defender (1905-1975).

Visit resource website

Fold3

Provides access to historic U.S. military records, including the stories, photos and personal documents of the men and women who served. You can also search archives for African Americans, Native Americans and the U.S. Bureau of Investigation case files, historical newspapers, historical documents, U.S. Census records, U.S. naturalization records, and city directories.

Visit resource website

HeritageQuest Online

Contains U.S. Federal Census images (1790-1940), map guide to the Federal Censuses (1790-1920), U.S. Indian Census Rolls (1885-1940), slave schedules for the 1850 and 1860 U.S. Federal Census, genealogy and local history books, city directories, pension and bounty land warrant applications from the Revolutionary War, Freedman's Bank Records (1865-1874), and the U.S. Serials Set (1789-present) which records the memorials, petitions and private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress.

Visit resource website

Historical Newspapers

Provides full-text access to the archives of Chicago Defender (1909-1975), St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922), The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Los Angeles Times (1881-1994), The New York Times (1851-2014), and The Washington Post (1877-2001).

Visit resource website

History Geo

HistoryGeo.com allows you to search antique maps and atlases and it displays original landowners of the continental United States according to state and federal records. Historygeo provides a single, interactive map containing over 9 million landowners across 21 states. This will be an invaluable tool for your historical and genealogical research.

In library use only.

Visit resource website

Jewish Exponent

Provides full-text access to the archives of The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990).

Visit resource website

OK2Explore

Ok2Explore is a free searchable index of births and deaths that occurred in the state of Oklahoma. Included is limited information on births occurring more than 20 years ago and deaths occurring more than 5 years ago. You may search the index using any combination of the subject’s name, date of event (birth or death), county of event, and sex.

Visit resource website

Oklahoma Newspapers

Provides full-text access to dozens of newspapers across Oklahoma.

Visit resource website

USA.Gov

This is the U.S. government's official web portal, designed to makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. Find information about benefits, grants and loans, jobs, training and education, passports and travel, immigration, citizenship and international travel, mortgages, housing and family, and more

Visit resource website

General Research

Search a variety of topics from a variety of sources, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and directories.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Academic Search Premier

Search thousands of magazines and journals, many of which are peer-reviewed and/or contain the full text, across such fields as biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and philosophy, science and technology, veterinary science, and more.

Visit resource website

Britannica Escolar

Versiones en español de Britannica: Britannica Escolar Online para las edades de 6-12 y para las edades de secundaria en adelante, Enciclopedia Moderna.

Visit resource website

Britannica Library Children

A kid-friendly version of Encyclopedia Britannica designed to help K-5 students with homework assignments, school projects, and research reports.

Visit resource website

Britannica Library Young Adults

A version of Encyclopedia Britannica that is designed to help students in grades 6-8 with homework assignments, school projects, and research reports.

Visit resource website

Britannica Online Reference Center

A version of Encyclopedia Britannica that is designed for older students and adults.

Visit resource website

EBSCOhost

Simultaneously search some or all of the databases provided by EBSCOhost: Academic Search Premier, Bibliography of Native North Americans, Biography Reference Bank, Business Source Premier, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, GreenFILE, Health Source, Military & Government Collection, Newspaper Source Plus, and more.

Visit resource website

Explora for Public Libraries

Explora for Public Libraries allows you to search multiple EBSCO databases for information about arts and literature, business and careers, consumer health, current events, geography and culture, and more. For educators, it also includes lesson plans, professional development materials, and a Curriculum Standards Module.

Visit resource website

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Search tens of thousands of encyclopedic entries across a variety of subject areas.

Visit resource website

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A virtual bookshelf containing digital copies of reference titles covering a range of subjects including biographies, business, education, multicultural studies, and science.

Visit resource website

MasterFILE Premier

Contains the full text of thousands of general reference magazines and publications that cover a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, and more.

Visit resource website

Oxford Biblical Studies Online

Provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. Oxford Biblical Studies Online contains the full text of six Bibles from a variety of denominations, the apocryphal texts from the Old and New Testaments, The Oxford Bible Commentary, articles from Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls, the Oxford Companion to the Bible, images, maps, timelines, and more.

Visit resource website

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

The OED provides the meaning, history and pronunciation of hundreds of thousands of words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. Discover how English words have changed over time with the historical dictionary and thesaurus and browse OED entries by subject, usage, region, and origin.

Visit resource website

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Islamic world and Islamic history. Oxford Islamic Studies Online contains two Oxford World's Classics versions of the Qur'an, Concordance of the Qur'an, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford Handbook of Islam and Politics, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, images, maps, timelines, and more.

Visit resource website

Price It! Antiques & Collectibles

A comprehensive identification, research and pricing tool for antiques and collectibles that searches tens of millions of actual prices paid for these goods. Price It! contains informative articles ranging from identification to history to tips on restoration and maintenance. It also contains a directory of thousands of collecting clubs around the world.

Visit resource website

World Religions Online

This database is an objective, comprehensive guide to the world’s major religions and spiritual traditions. It contains a calendar of holidays and observances, videos, images, essays, biographies, and more about the beliefs, practices and history of each major religion.

Visit resource website

Geography, Maps & Travel

Can't remember whether to bow in Bombay or sit in Singapore? Here you'll find access to high quality maps, travel information, and in depth detail about countries and customs to enhance any presentation or voyage.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

A to Z Maps Online

Provides access to over 100,000 various types of maps for the U.S., world countries and continents. A to Z Maps Online contains a large number of specialized maps like antique maps, bathymetric and fishing maps, climate change maps, environmental maps, geography and geology maps, Holy Land maps, tree and bird distribution maps, and more. It also contains flags from world countries and international organizations.

Visit resource website

A to Z the USA

This database contains state, county and city information for all U.S. states and territories. It lists facts and statistics about arts and culture, climate and weather, demographics, flags and seals, government and politics, history, maps, photos, and more.

Visit resource website

A to Z World Travel

Contains travel guides for over 200 world cities. Each guide contains helpful information about a particular city's food and restaurants, climate and weather, embassies/consulates, health and medical services, travel essentials, money and banking, electrical and telecommunication requirements, and more.

Visit resource website

CultureGrams

Contains state and country profiles, graphs and tables, photos, biographical articles, and unique information like recipes from around the world. There is a version of this database just for kids and a version for everyone else.

Visit resource website

Global Road Warrior

Provides information for nearly 200 countries on topics such as business culture, climate, demographics, electrical (plugs and sockets), embassies/consulates, food and recipes, health and medical, language, money, telecommunications, travel essentials, and more.

Visit resource website

HeritageQuest Online

Contains U.S. Federal Census images (1790-1940), map guide to the Federal Censuses (1790-1920), U.S. Indian Census Rolls (1885-1940), slave schedules for the 1850 and 1860 U.S. Federal Census, genealogy and local history books, city directories, pension and bounty land warrant applications from the Revolutionary War, Freedman's Bank Records (1865-1874), and the U.S. Serials Set (1789-present) which records the memorials, petitions and private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress.

Visit resource website

Health & Wellness

These health and wellness databases provide research and advice from the medical community. Find the latest on new medications and treatments, diet and exercise from medical science and consumer health sources.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Consumer Health Complete

Designed to support the information needs of patients, Consumer Health Complete provides access to easily understandable health and medical information. You can search and browse medical encyclopedias, reference books, fact sheets and pamphlets, magazine articles, and more.

Visit resource website

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Provides the full text of many consumer health magazines (including Better Nutrition, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and others), health-related pamphlets and health reference books.

Visit resource website

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and more.

Visit resource website

MEDLINE

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.

Visit resource website

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

An essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers, and students, providing extensive coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences, and related disciplines.

Visit resource website

History

Primary sources abound in these databases. Find documents, maps, newspapers, photos, videos, and recordings of the events that shaped our history.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

African American Heritage

Search historical records for African Americans that include the Federal Census, Marriage and Cohabitation Records, Military Draft and Service Records, Registers of Slaves and Free(d) Persons of Color, Freedman's Bank, and more.

Visit resource website

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)

Search hundreds of African American newspapers from across the United States published during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Visit resource website

African-American History Online

Covers more than 500 years of African-American history using biographies, primary sources, images, videos, timelines, maps, and charts.

Visit resource website

America's Historical Newspapers

This is a searchable collection of early American newspapers from 1690-1999.

Visit resource website

American Indian History Online

Explore more than 15,000 years of culture and history with event and topic entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, legends, primary sources, and timeline entries. 
 

Visit resource website

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender is the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research.

Visit resource website

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

From the Library of Congress, Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers allows you to search millions of pages of America's historic newspapers from 1789-1963.

Visit resource website

Historical Newspapers

Provides full-text access to the archives of Chicago Defender (1909-1975), St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922), The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Los Angeles Times (1881-1994), The New York Times (1851-2014), and The Washington Post (1877-2001).

Visit resource website

Historical Statistics of the United States

Access data on the quantitative facts of American history. Coverage of subject areas includes social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.

Visit resource website

Indigenous Peoples: North America

Research the political, social, and cultural history of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada from the 16th century until well into the 20th century. Explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.

Visit resource website

Issues & Controversies in American History

Provides extensive coverage of key issues in American History via pro/con arguments, primary source documents, timelines, background articles, and biographies.

Visit resource website

Latino American Experience

Drawing from thousands of primary and secondary sources, this database is dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos—the largest, fastest growing minority group in the United States.

Visit resource website

Oxford Art Online

This database has a single interface you can use to search the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

Visit resource website

Oxford Biblical Studies Online

Provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. Oxford Biblical Studies Online contains the full text of six Bibles from a variety of denominations, the apocryphal texts from the Old and New Testaments, The Oxford Bible Commentary, articles from Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls, the Oxford Companion to the Bible, images, maps, timelines, and more.

Visit resource website

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Islamic world and Islamic history. Oxford Islamic Studies Online contains two Oxford World's Classics versions of the Qur'an, Concordance of the Qur'an, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford Handbook of Islam and Politics, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, images, maps, timelines, and more.

Visit resource website

Testaments to the Holocaust

Provides access to the Documents and Rare Printed Materials archives of the Wiener Library in London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-Semitic activities of the Nazi Party during World War II. It contains thousands of eyewitness accounts, photographs, propaganda materials, Wiener Library publications, and biographical details of major figures in the Nazi Party.

Visit resource website

US History in Context

U.S. History in Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the American Revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.

Visit resource website

World History in Context

World History in Context provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.

Visit resource website

Hobbies & Crafts

There really are no limits to this database when it comes to leisure time. Inside you'll find helpful tips, patterns, articles, and even video guides on a variety of activities from needlecraft to collecting to video gaming.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Film Scripts Online

The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film lovers and scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.

Visit resource website

Hobbies & Crafts

Offers detailed how-to instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter's World, and more.

Visit resource website

Home Improvement Reference Center

Provides detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of home improvement and repair projects.

Visit resource website

Price It! Antiques & Collectibles

A comprehensive identification, research and pricing tool for antiques and collectibles that searches tens of millions of actual prices paid for these goods. Price It! contains informative articles ranging from identification to history to tips on restoration and maintenance. It also contains a directory of thousands of collecting clubs around the world.

Visit resource website

Homework Help

Our homework help center can assist with topic selection, sources, and facts for reports as well as writing guides and science experiments.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

A to Z Maps Online

Provides access to over 100,000 various types of maps for the U.S., world countries and continents. A to Z Maps Online contains a large number of specialized maps like antique maps, bathymetric and fishing maps, climate change maps, environmental maps, geography and geology maps, Holy Land maps, tree and bird distribution maps, and more. It also contains flags from world countries and international organizations.

Visit resource website

A to Z the USA

This database contains state, county and city information for all U.S. states and territories. It lists facts and statistics about arts and culture, climate and weather, demographics, flags and seals, government and politics, history, maps, photos, and more.

Visit resource website

African-American History Online

Covers more than 500 years of African-American history using biographies, primary sources, images, videos, timelines, maps, and charts.

Visit resource website

American Indian History Online

Explore more than 15,000 years of culture and history with event and topic entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, legends, primary sources, and timeline entries. 
 

Visit resource website

Biography Reference Center

Biography Reference Center is a collection of full-text biographies on notable personalities from around the world, including actors, authors, world leaders, inventors and much, much more.

Visit resource website

Book Collection Nonfiction: Elementary School

Contains abstracts and searchable full text of nonfiction books about animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, nature, civics and more.

Visit resource website

Book Collection Nonfiction: High School

Contains abstracts and the full text of nonfiction books about careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.

Visit resource website

Book Collection Nonfiction: Middle School

Contains abstracts and the full text of nonfiction books about careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.

Visit resource website

Britannica Escolar

Versiones en español de Britannica: Britannica Escolar Online para las edades de 6-12 y para las edades de secundaria en adelante, Enciclopedia Moderna.

Visit resource website

Britannica Library Children

A kid-friendly version of Encyclopedia Britannica designed to help K-5 students with homework assignments, school projects, and research reports.

Visit resource website

Britannica Library Young Adults

A version of Encyclopedia Britannica that is designed to help students in grades 6-8 with homework assignments, school projects, and research reports.

Visit resource website

Britannica Online Reference Center

A version of Encyclopedia Britannica that is designed for older students and adults.

Visit resource website

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography

Provides information on the history of science through biographies on the lives and careers of great scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Visit resource website

CultureGrams

Contains state and country profiles, graphs and tables, photos, biographical articles, and unique information like recipes from around the world. There is a version of this database just for kids and a version for everyone else.

Visit resource website

Explora for Elementary School Student Research

Elementary students can easily search for information about animals, arts and music, biographies, math, science, and more using resources like Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, popular full-text elementary school magazines, eBooks, thousands of images, and videos. For educators, it also includes lesson plans, professional development materials, and a Curriculum Standards Module.

Visit resource website

Explora for Secondary School Student Research

This general reference database for grades 6-12 provides full-text coverage of many topics via magazines, newspapers, reference books, eBooks, biographies, radio and tv news transcripts, primary source documents, maps, images, and more. For educators, it also includes lesson plans, professional development materials, and a Curriculum Standards Module.

Visit resource website

Film Scripts Online

The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film lovers and scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.

Visit resource website

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Search tens of thousands of encyclopedic entries across a variety of subject areas.

Visit resource website

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia

Pronounced "Chim-meks," this online version of the classic print encyclopedia provides comprehensive information on thousands of species, including information on evolution and taxonomy, physical characteristics, distribution, habitat, behavior, feeding ecology and diet, reproductive biology, conservation status, and significance to humans.

Visit resource website

HelpNow

HelpNow is a homework help and skills building service that offers live online tutoring for elementary through high school students. HelpNow also offers a writing lab, practice tests, skills building lessons, a flashcard generator, and virtual study rooms.

Visit resource website

Indigenous Peoples: North America

Research the political, social, and cultural history of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada from the 16th century until well into the 20th century. Explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.

Visit resource website

Issues & Controversies

Offers in-depth articles to objectively understand the crucial issues of the day in politics, business, government and society, family and community, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, Issues & Controversies provides the latest related news coverage from Reuters as well as a variety of helpful background information such as the key pro/con arguments, primary documents and chronologies of related events.

Visit resource website

Issues & Controversies in American History

Provides extensive coverage of key issues in American History via pro/con arguments, primary source documents, timelines, background articles, and biographies.

Visit resource website

LearningExpress Library

LearningExpress Library contains study guides and practice tests to help you prepare for career- and school-related tests (GED, ACT, SAT, ASVAB, CDL, NCLEX-RN, etc), job and career resources to help you search for a job, write a resume, and guide you through the interview process, and self-paced tutorials for computer and internet basics as well as for popular software like Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc), Adobe Photoshop, and the Windows and Mac operating systems.

Visit resource website

Literary Reference Center Plus

Search thousands of literary criticisms, author biographies, full text classics, stories, and poetry.

Visit resource website

MAS Complete - School Edition

Designed specifically for high school students, MAS Complete - School Edition contains the full text of hundreds of popular high school magazines, biographies, primary source documents, and reference books covering a wide range of subject areas including history, science, careers, and more.

Visit resource website

National Geographic Kids

Designed for 6-14 year olds, this database includes digital copies of National Geographic Kids magazine from 2009-present, and books and images about animals, environment, history, peoples and cultures, places, science, and technology.

Visit resource website

National Geographic Virtual Library

This collection is a complete archive of National Geographic magazine - every page of every issue - along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images, and videos and the PAWS (People, Animals, and the World) database.

Visit resource website

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Presents the points of view towards current social issues and provides essays, primary sources, statistics, and topic overviews to better inform you about the issues.

Visit resource website

Science Online

Comprehensive, curriculum-oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Content is organized by subject area and type of resource, as well as by Common Core, state, national, and national STEM standards. Science Online includes thousands of experiments and activities, articles, biographies, diagrams, timelines, videos and animations, a science dictionary, and more.

Visit resource website

Science Reference Center

Designed to meet student’s science research needs, Science Reference Center contains hundreds of science magazine and journal articles, encyclopedias, and reference books.  Students can also discover science projects, multimedia items on various science topics.

Visit resource website

SIRS Discoverer

This general reference database for elementary and middle school students provides full-text coverage of newspapers, reference books, nonfiction books, magazines, and web resources. It also contains maps, images, country facts, classroom activities, and resources for educators to use in their classrooms.

Visit resource website

SIRS Issues Researcher

This general reference database for grades 6-12 provides coverage of hundreds of topics through full-text coverage of newspapers, reference books, government documents, primary sources, magazines, and web resources. It also contains biographies, maps, images, timelines, and resources for educators to use in their classrooms.

Formerly known as SIRS Knowledge Source

Visit resource website

US History in Context

U.S. History in Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the American Revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.

Visit resource website

World Almanac for Kids

Expanding upon the print version of The World Almanac for Kids, this database covers a number of subject areas that students can search or browse in order to develop online research skills while using a trusted source. It also contains homework help tips, science diagrams and examples of science projects.

Visit resource website

World History in Context

World History in Context provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.

Visit resource website

Jobs & Career

Looking to get your first job or your next one? Try one of these self-directed tools for help with creating a resume, preparing for an interview, or exploring a new career path.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Adult Learning Center

Learn foundational, career-enhancing skills by using the expert writing lab, study tools and more. The Adult Learning Center offers test preparation (including the GED and the USCIS citizenship test) and a unique academic skills center featuring live, online tutors.

Visit resource website

Career Cruising

Designed to help students assess their skills, develop a career plan and explore career and college options.

Visit resource website

College Blue Book

The College Blue Book is a guide to thousands of 2-and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada with detailed descriptions, including a listing of degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.

Visit resource website

Cypress Resume

Create professional resumes, cover letters and reference lists in minutes by simply entering basic information about yourself.

Visit resource website

Federal Student Aid

Students planning to attend college or career school can learn about and apply for grants, loans and work-study funds.

Visit resource website

JobNow

JobNow features job and career resources such as chatting with a live job coaching expert, resume and cover letter templates, interview tips, expert resume review, and more.

Visit resource website

LearningExpress Library

LearningExpress Library contains study guides and practice tests to help you prepare for career- and school-related tests (GED, ACT, SAT, ASVAB, CDL, NCLEX-RN, etc), job and career resources to help you search for a job, write a resume, and guide you through the interview process, and self-paced tutorials for computer and internet basics as well as for popular software like Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc), Adobe Photoshop, and the Windows and Mac operating systems.

Visit resource website

lynda.com

lynda.com contains thousands of self-paced online courses that you can use to learn more about business, CAD, design, education, hardware and software, technology, video, web design and much more. NOTE: To sign in to lynda.com, use your last name as your Library Card PIN.
lynda.com is a leading online learning company that helps anyone learn business, software, technology, and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals.

Visit resource website

Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect contains comprehensive business information on hundreds of millions of U.S. and international businesses. It also provides residential search information for over 210 million U.S. consumers, demographic information based on the latest Census data, and job search information for career seekers.

Visit resource website

SkillSurfer Learning Library

Visit the SkillSurfer Learning Library to read lessons, watch videos, and take practice tests on a variety of subjects. Get ready to apply for college, brush up on Microsoft Office skills, learn about different careers, and study for the GED, SAT, ACT, AP, CLEP, GRE, GMAT, ASVAB, Praxis, or TOEFL.

Visit resource website

VetNow

VetNow has resources carefully tailored to veterans transitioning to the civilian workforce. Visit VetNow for live help navigating veterans’ benefits, resume building, job coaching, and skills building.

Visit resource website

Legal & Government

Not sure which government agency to call or need the forms to sell a property? Find a simple guide to the federal government as well as large database of consumer legal forms in our legal databases

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

American Law Yearbook

A Guide to the Year's Major Legal Cases and Developments including updates with expanded content with new topics, updates, biographies of prominent figures and government appointees, and other features. Each year's edition contains the full U.S. Supreme Court docket in addition to the non-Supreme Court cases.

Visit resource website

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids

An educational tool intended to teach K-12 students about our nation’s Federal government, history and political structure. 

Visit resource website

Federal Student Aid

Students planning to attend college or career school can learn about and apply for grants, loans and work-study funds.

Visit resource website

Government Printing Office (GPO)

Provides bibliographic information (title, author(s), year, etc.) for U.S. government documents published by the GPO since July 1976 and includes and a list of libraries that own the documents. Coverage includes all types of U.S. government documents such as Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).

Visit resource website

Legal Collection

A collection of the most respected scholarly law journals with information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world.

Visit resource website

Legal Forms Library

Access federal and Oklahoma-specific legal forms for business, personal, official, real estate, litigation, and general needs. Oklahoma legal forms are provided by participating attorneys, form companies or were specifically adapted for Oklahoma.

Visit resource website

Legal Information Reference Center

Designed to assist the general public on legal matters, this resource provides consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.

Visit resource website

Military & Government Collection

This database offers current news through a collection of magazines, academic journals and other content pertinent to all branches of the military and government. Publications include Air Force Comptroller, Combat Edge, Defence Studies, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly

Visit resource website

USA.Gov

This is the U.S. government's official web portal, designed to makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. Find information about benefits, grants and loans, jobs, training and education, passports and travel, immigration, citizenship and international travel, mortgages, housing and family, and more

Visit resource website

Washington Information Directory Online

The Washington Information Directory is the essential one-stop source for information on U.S. governmental and nongovernmental agencies and organizations. This thoroughly researched guide provides descriptions to quickly and easily find the right person at the right organization. The Washington Information Directory offers three easy ways to find information: by name, by organization, and through detailed subject indexes.

Visit resource website

Magazines & Newspapers

Locate general material on virtually any topic from the many magazine and newspaper databases in this section. Access ranges from the 1600s to the present so you're sure to find something you're looking for.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Access Newspaper Archive

Search tens of millions of U.S. and international newspapers whose coverage goes back more than 400 years.

Visit resource website

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)

Search hundreds of African American newspapers from across the United States published during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Visit resource website

America's Historical Newspapers

This is a searchable collection of early American newspapers from 1690-1999.

Visit resource website

America's News

Search over 1700 newspapers and other news sources including college/university newspapers, magazines, newswires, and radio and tv transcripts from across the U.S.

Visit resource website

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

From the Library of Congress, Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers allows you to search millions of pages of America's historic newspapers from 1789-1963.

Visit resource website

Consumer Reports

Access the latest reviews and ratings of cars, appliances, electronics, home and garden equipment, products for babies and kids and more from Consumer Reports. 

Visit resource website

Historical Newspapers

Provides full-text access to the archives of Chicago Defender (1909-1975), St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922), The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Los Angeles Times (1881-1994), The New York Times (1851-2014), and The Washington Post (1877-2001).

Visit resource website

Journal Record

Online access to Oklahoma’s daily business and legal news source, The Journal Record. Coverage includes daily news as well as the paper’s archives.

In library use only.

Visit resource website

National Geographic Virtual Library

This collection is a complete archive of National Geographic magazine - every page of every issue - along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images, and videos and the PAWS (People, Animals, and the World) database.

Visit resource website

New York Times

NYTimes.com provides free access to articles from 1851-1922 and 1981-present as well as a number of blogs, interactive features, videos, and other web-only content. To bypass the paywall, simply register for a free account at NYTimes.com. For full coverage of the Times from 1851-2012, visit our Historical Newspapers database.

In library use only.

Visit resource website

New York Times (remote access)

Enjoy current and past articles (back to 1980) from The New York Times at home or on the go. Visit Historical Newspapers to access articles from The New York Times dating back to 1851.

Visit resource website

Newsbank - The Oklahoman (1981-present)

Access full-text archives of The Oklahoman newspaper, exclusive of paid advertisements, from 1981-present.

Visit resource website

Oklahoma Newspapers

Provides full-text access to dozens of newspapers across Oklahoma.

Visit resource website

Oklahoman Digital Archives (1901-present)

This database contains full-color, digital copies of The Oklahoman newspaper, including today's edition. Search the entire archives of The Oklahoman or search individual issues. You can browse the newspapers by date or search by keyword across articles, advertisements and photo captions.

Visit resource website

U.S. Major Dailies

US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: the New York Times, The Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.

Visit resource website

Wall Street Journal

Access The Wall Street Journal current and past articles back to 1984.

Visit resource website

Washington Post

Access The Washington Post current and past articles back to 1987. See Historical Newspapers for The Washington Post articles dating back to 1877.

Visit resource website

Oklahoma

All about the Sooner State. Read newspapers since 1901, see photos and watch videos capturing vignettes of the state's history.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

A to Z Maps Online

Provides access to over 100,000 various types of maps for the U.S., world countries and continents. A to Z Maps Online contains a large number of specialized maps like antique maps, bathymetric and fishing maps, climate change maps, environmental maps, geography and geology maps, Holy Land maps, tree and bird distribution maps, and more. It also contains flags from world countries and international organizations.

Visit resource website

A to Z the USA

This database contains state, county and city information for all U.S. states and territories. It lists facts and statistics about arts and culture, climate and weather, demographics, flags and seals, government and politics, history, maps, photos, and more.

Visit resource website

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

From the Library of Congress, Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers allows you to search millions of pages of America's historic newspapers from 1789-1963.

Visit resource website

CultureGrams

Contains state and country profiles, graphs and tables, photos, biographical articles, and unique information like recipes from around the world. There is a version of this database just for kids and a version for everyone else.

Visit resource website

History Geo

HistoryGeo.com allows you to search antique maps and atlases and it displays original landowners of the continental United States according to state and federal records. Historygeo provides a single, interactive map containing over 9 million landowners across 21 states. This will be an invaluable tool for your historical and genealogical research.

In library use only.

Visit resource website

Journal Record

Online access to Oklahoma’s daily business and legal news source, The Journal Record. Coverage includes daily news as well as the paper’s archives.

In library use only.

Visit resource website

Oklahoma Driving Practice Tests

Take practice tests for obtaining a driving permit, a motorcycle license or a commercial driver's license (CDL) in Oklahoma, get access the official driver's manual for each license, and search an FAQ with answers to over 100 questions about an Oklahoma driver's license.

Visit resource website

Oklahoma Folklore Collection

A collection of the stories, songs, letters, interviews, poems, sheet music, brochures, and much more that make up Oklahoma's rich folk tradition. Along with the transcribed documents, you will find a scanned image of the original document.

Visit resource website

Oklahoma Images

A collection of pictures and essays that illustrate the history of Central Oklahoma. You will find photographs, art works, primary source materials, and essays that tell the story of the people who have called Oklahoma home.

Visit resource website

Oklahoma Newspapers

Provides full-text access to dozens of newspapers across Oklahoma.

Visit resource website

Oklahoman Digital Archives (1901-present)

This database contains full-color, digital copies of The Oklahoman newspaper, including today's edition. Search the entire archives of The Oklahoman or search individual issues. You can browse the newspapers by date or search by keyword across articles, advertisements and photo captions.

Visit resource website

Sanborn Maps

Created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property, Sanborn Maps provide information on more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Maps for Oklahoma cities go back to 1894. These maps includes details such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights and function of structures, location of windows and doors, street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.

Visit resource website

Science

Research a school paper or get up to speed on science topics in the news - whatever your need these science databases will fill the bill. Science experiments, easy-to-understand diagrams, explanatory videos are all here.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography

Provides information on the history of science through biographies on the lives and careers of great scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Visit resource website

Computer Source

Offering a comprehensive search on computing, technology, and engineering topics.

Visit resource website

GreenFILE

Contains well-researched information covering the relationship between human beings and the environment. GreenFILE's collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes coverage on topics like climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Visit resource website

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia

Pronounced "Chim-meks," this online version of the classic print encyclopedia provides comprehensive information on thousands of species, including information on evolution and taxonomy, physical characteristics, distribution, habitat, behavior, feeding ecology and diet, reproductive biology, conservation status, and significance to humans.

Visit resource website

Science Online

Comprehensive, curriculum-oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Content is organized by subject area and type of resource, as well as by Common Core, state, national, and national STEM standards. Science Online includes thousands of experiments and activities, articles, biographies, diagrams, timelines, videos and animations, a science dictionary, and more.

Visit resource website

Science Reference Center

Designed to meet student’s science research needs, Science Reference Center contains hundreds of science magazine and journal articles, encyclopedias, and reference books.  Students can also discover science projects, multimedia items on various science topics.

Visit resource website

Social Sciences

Find resources for a variety of social science topics in these databases from hot button issues in the news to pro/con arguments, background, and primary sources.

A B C E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender is the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research.

Visit resource website

Biography Reference Center

Biography Reference Center is a collection of full-text biographies on notable personalities from around the world, including actors, authors, world leaders, inventors and much, much more.

Visit resource website

CultureGrams

Contains state and country profiles, graphs and tables, photos, biographical articles, and unique information like recipes from around the world. There is a version of this database just for kids and a version for everyone else.

Visit resource website

Indigenous Peoples: North America

Research the political, social, and cultural history of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada from the 16th century until well into the 20th century. Explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.

Visit resource website

Issues & Controversies

Offers in-depth articles to objectively understand the crucial issues of the day in politics, business, government and society, family and community, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, Issues & Controversies provides the latest related news coverage from Reuters as well as a variety of helpful background information such as the key pro/con arguments, primary documents and chronologies of related events.

Visit resource website

Issues & Controversies in American History

Provides extensive coverage of key issues in American History via pro/con arguments, primary source documents, timelines, background articles, and biographies.

Visit resource website

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Presents the points of view towards current social issues and provides essays, primary sources, statistics, and topic overviews to better inform you about the issues.

Visit resource website

Oxford Art Online

This database has a single interface you can use to search the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

Visit resource website

Oxford Biblical Studies Online

Provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. Oxford Biblical Studies Online contains the full text of six Bibles from a variety of denominations, the apocryphal texts from the Old and New Testaments, The Oxford Bible Commentary, articles from Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls, the Oxford Companion to the Bible, images, maps, timelines, and more.

Visit resource website

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Islamic world and Islamic history. Oxford Islamic Studies Online contains two Oxford World's Classics versions of the Qur'an, Concordance of the Qur'an, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford Handbook of Islam and Politics, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, images, maps, timelines, and more.

Visit resource website

Science Online

Comprehensive, curriculum-oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Content is organized by subject area and type of resource, as well as by Common Core, state, national, and national STEM standards. Science Online includes thousands of experiments and activities, articles, biographies, diagrams, timelines, videos and animations, a science dictionary, and more.

Visit resource website

SIRS Issues Researcher

This general reference database for grades 6-12 provides coverage of hundreds of topics through full-text coverage of newspapers, reference books, government documents, primary sources, magazines, and web resources. It also contains biographies, maps, images, timelines, and resources for educators to use in their classrooms.

Formerly known as SIRS Knowledge Source

Visit resource website

Sociological Collection

Provides a trusted source of sociology literature, making it an essential tool for sociology and social work researchers, professionals, and students.

Visit resource website

World Religions Online

This database is an objective, comprehensive guide to the world’s major religions and spiritual traditions. It contains a calendar of holidays and observances, videos, images, essays, biographies, and more about the beliefs, practices and history of each major religion.

Visit resource website